BUK Matriculates 8, 090 New Students

Bayero University has matriculated eight thousand ninety (8,090) students who have been admitted into the University in the current 2018/2019 academic session.

The Vice Chancellor, Professor Muhammad Yahuza Bello congratulated the new students for gaining admission into one of the best universities in Nigeria, saying that “you have found yourselves lucky to be among the newly admitted students.”

The Vice Chancellor, who was represented by the Deputy Vice Chancellor, Administration, Professor Haruna Wakili, charged the new students to abide by the University’s rules and regulations governing their academic and non-academic activities. He noted that the University would not tolerate any act of indiscipline perpetrated by students.

The Vice Chancellor charged the new students to be governed by the general examination and academic regulations, students’ handbook, code of ethics and dress code. He called on them to read the documents carefully.

“In the current 2018/2019 academic session, 63, 291 candidates chose Bayero University as their first choice out of which 55,648 applied through UTME, while 7643 through Direct Entry. Out of this number only 8,090 candidates were admitted. You should all be happy to find yourselves among the lucky ones,” the Vice Chancellor added.

Prof Bello noted that there was an appreciable number of female ratio compared to previous sessions. He said that of the total number of admitted students 2, 771 representing 34% were females.

The admission statistics showed that the University has improved significantly the science/arts ratio with 4,832 students representing 60% were in science based programmes, while 3,228 were in arts.

Earlier, the Registrar, Fatima Binta Mohammed administered the oath of allegiance on the new students, who solemnly pledged to observe and respect the provisions of Bayero University’s Law and statute, ordinances and regulations which are in force or which may be brought into force.

The ceremony took place on Thursday, 18th April, 2019 at the Convocation Arena.