History of the Center

The present University administration responded to the call for the introduction of the Biotechnology Center in 2012. The initial process began under the former DVC (Academics) Prof. M. Y. Bello but was later continued and completed by a committee under Prof. Hafiz Abubakar MFR, then HOD, Department of Biochemistry. The Center for Biotechnology Research (CBR-BUK) was then formally established with Professor Hafiz Abubakar MFR as Director, after recommendation of the senate and approval of the University Council. To strengthen the capacity of the Centre, the Vice-Chancellor Prof. Abubakar A. Rashid Mni, MFR, appointed a Technical Committee as an advisory body. From January 2013 to date, with these personalities as the chairman and members:

Prof Hafiz Abubakar of Department of Biochemistry as Chairman

Prof M. S. Sule of Department of Biochemistry as Member

Prof B.S. Aliyu of Department of Biological Sciences as Member

Prof. Y. Mustapha of Biological Sciences as Member

Dr M. D. Mukhtar of Dept of Biological Sciences as Member

Dr A. Y. Manu of Dept. of Medical Microbiology as Member

Dr M. Y. Gwarzo of Medical Laboratory Science as Member

Dr. M.S. Gaya of Faculty of Agriculture as Member

Engr H. A. Daura of Civil Engineering as Member

Engr M. H. Bichi of Dept. of Civil Engineering as Member/Discussion Coordinator

Dr I. L. Abdullahi of Biological Sciences as Member/Secretary

The Centre, with the help and cooperation of the Technical Committee, has made tremendous progress in articulating and translating its vision, mission and stated objectives. The building housing the Center has been completed. A comprehensive inventory of available facilities has been conducted; gaps in equipment/ facility requirements identified and installation of available facilities are being supervised by the Academic Planning Unit to ensure effective maintenance, supervision and monitoring in accordance with best practices worldwide.