The SCE has been mandated to coordinate affiliation matters and to supervise the activities of affiliated colleges. Since then, it has continued to coordinate both the academic and administrative affairs between the University and the affiliated Colleges. As a result of the decision of the University to stop the affiliation of both sub-degree and postgraduate programs, only four Colleges are now affiliated to the University with effect from the 2014/2015 session.

The Colleges are:

- Federal College of Education, Katsina, Katsina state.
- Sa’adatu Rimi College of Education, Kumbotso, Kano state.
- Jigawa State College of Education, Gumel, Jigawa State.
- College of Arabic & Islamic Legal Studies, Ilorin, Kwara state.